Laureates for PhD thesis and Publication

Dr. Theresa Suckert

Dr. Ielizaveta Gorodetska

Dr. Annekatrin Seidlitz

Dr. Theresa Suckert is honored with this year's Christoph-Schmelzer-Award

The young researcher from the Dresden partner site of the German Consortium for Translational Cancer Research (DKTK) did her PhD thesis entitled "Normal brain tissue reaction after proton irradiation" at OncoRay. She developed clinically relevant models to study normal brain tissue damage and its precise irradiation in the experimental area of the University Proton Therapy Dresden. Her work forms the basis for further translational research in the field of proton therapy of brain tumors.

With the Christoph-Schmelzer-Award, the “Verein zur Förderung der Tumortherapie mit schweren Ionen e.V.” recognizes outstanding master's or doctoral theses in the field of tumor therapy with ion beams and this year awarded Dr. Theresa Suckert from Dresden and Dr. Felix Horst from Giessen. Link

Carl Gustav Carus Förderpreise 2021 for Dr. Ielizaveta Gorodetska and Dr. Annekatrin Seidlitz

Dr. Ielizaveta Gorodetska received the Carl Gustav Carus Förderpreis 2021 for her PhD thesis entitled "The interplay between BRCA and ALDH proteins in the regulation of prostate cancer radioresistance and stem cell properties".

Dr. Annekatrin Seidlitz was rewarded the Carl Gustav Carus Förderpreis 2021 für her publikation entitled "Final results of the Prospective Biomarker Trial PETra: [11C]-MET-Accumulation in Postoperative PET/MRI Predicts Outcome after Radiochemotherapy in Glioblastoma".

The ceremonial handover will be made up on January 20th, 2022 due to the current pandemic situation.

CONGRATULATIONS to all award winners!